Scott Teeple

Scott Teeple

Professor of Music, Director of Bands

Scott Teeple serves as a professor of music, director of bands, and chair of the conducting area at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In this role, he conducts the wind ensemble, teaches graduate conducting, and oversees all aspects of the UW–Madison Band program.

Mr. Teeple is in demand as a clinician and guest conductor. He is regularly invited to teach conducting symposia, and conduct all-state honor bands. He has conducted in Europe, Asia, and throughout the United States, including Orchestra Hall (MN), Overture Center for the Arts (WI), and Carnegie Hall (NY).

Under his leadership, the ensembles at UW–Madison have toured, recorded, and participated in numerous commissions. Most recently, the UW–Madison Wind Ensemble performed the world premiere of Angélica Negrón’s “blooming artifacts.” The UW–Madison Wind Ensemble hosted and performed at the 2022 North Central Region Conference of the College Band Directors National Association. His ensembles and graduate conducting students have collaborated with internationally renowned artists, including Eugene Corporon, Craig Kirchhoff, Michael Mulcahy, Marianne Ploger, H. Robert Reynolds, and Edo de Waart.

Before his appointment at the University of Wisconsin–Madison, Mr. Teeple served on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point and the University of Michigan–Ann Arbor. He has served on the executive board of the Wisconsin Music Educators’ Association and the Arts Alliance Executive Board and is president-elect of the North Central Region of the College Band Directors National Association. He is past president of the Big Ten Band Directors Association.

Mr. Teeple received degrees in Music Education and Conducting from the University of Michigan, where he studied with H. Robert Reynolds. He is a member of the College Band Directors National Association, the National Association for Music Education, and the World Association of Symphonic Bands and Ensembles. He is the recipient of the UW–Madison Edna Weicher’s Award. Other honors include membership in Phi Mu Alpha, Kappa Kappa Psi, Pi Kappa Lambda, and Phi Eta Sigma.